Illumining and Strengthening the Work of Bahá’í Writers

May 21, 2022, at 11:00 PM Central Time

A Five Part Webinar Series

Register for webinar here

 

Creating Engaging Stories and Devotional Content for Young Children and Their Families / May 21, 2022 AT 9:00 AM Pacific, 12:00 PM Eastern

TIME: 11:00 AM to 12:30 PM CST (9-10:30 am Pacific, 12-1:30 pm Eastern)

PRESENTERS: Authors Elaheh Bos and Linda Ahdieh Grant

DESCRIPTION: How can we craft material that will inspire the youngest members of our communities and nurture devotional habits and meaningful conversations in the home? As young families strive to live lives coherent with the broad framework of the Plans of the Universal House of Justice, and build strong spiritual foundations for their children, the need for vibrant children’s literature is stronger than ever. Panelists will discuss their creative processes, the sources from which they draw inspiration, and the methods by which they see their projects through to completion.

Register for webinar here

Writing for Junior Youth and Youth / May 21, 2022 AT 12:00 PM Pacific, 03:00 PM Eastern

TIME: 2:00 to 3:30 PM CST (12-1:30 pm Pacific, 3-4:30 pm Eastern)

PRESENTERS: Authors Amy Renshaw and Susan Engle

DESCRIPTION: With so much content competing for their attention, how can we engage the minds and hearts of junior youth and youth? What are some useful approaches to creating materials for this age group that inspire action and reflection? How can we educate and inspire while also engaging and entertaining readers? Panelists will share their learnings and the insights they have gained through years of developing material for this age group.

Register for webinar here

BPT Special Guest: Dr. Joy Angela DeGruy / May 21, 2022 AT 05:00 PM Pacific, 08:00 PM Eastern

TIME: 7:00 PM CST (5pm Pacific, 8 pm Eastern)

Dr. DeGruy’s research focuses on the intersection of racism, trauma, violence and American chattel slavery. She has over thirty years of practical experience as a professional in the field of social work. She conducts seminars, lectures, and trainings in the areas of Intergenerational/Historical trauma, mental health, social justice, improvement strategies and evidence-based model development.

Dr. DeGruy travels across the globe to share her message and has held lectures and seminars almost everywhere. She has presented her work at Morehouse School of Medicine, Smith College, Spelman College, Harvard University, Tulane University, Princeton University, Fisk University, Yale University, M.I.T, the United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization, Oxford University, the New York City African Burial Ground, the Essence Music Festival, the County of LA Department of Mental Health and many others. She has also been featured on Oprah Winfrey’s OWN network.

In addition to her pioneering work in the explanatory theory and book, Post Traumatic Slave Syndrome, she has developed evidence-based models for working with children, youth, and adults of color and their communities.

Developing, Researching, and Writing Historical Narratives / May 22, 2022 AT 9:00 AM Pacific, 12:00 PM Eastern

TIME: 11:00 AM to 12:30 PM CST (9-10:30 am Pacific, 12-1:30 pm Eastern)

PRESENTERS: Authors Michael Day and Angelina Allen

DESCRIPTION: The history of the Baháʼí Faith is dense and complex. Those wishing to explore aspects of the Faith’s history must find the stories they wish to tell, identify the sources at their disposal, and make a multitude of decisions regarding the audience, the context in which to frame their material, and the stylistic choices that will inform their work. Panelists will discuss the processes involved, from the germination of an idea to the research, development, and completion of a project.

Baháʼí Publishers Panel Discussion with U.S. Baháʼí Publishing Trust, U.S. Review Office and George Ronald Publisher / May 22, 2022 AT 12:00 PM Pacific, 03:00 PM Eastern

TIME: 2:00 to 3:30 PM CST (12-1:30 pm Pacific, 3-4:30 pm Eastern)

PRESENTERS: May Hofman and Erica Leith of George Ronald, Martha Schweitz of U.S. Review Office, and Bahhaj Taherzadeh from U.S. Baháʼí Publishing Trust

MODERATOR: Dr. Robert Stockman, Wilmette Institute Director

DESCRIPTION: Join us for a moderated discussion between staff of George Ronald, U.S. Review office and the U.S. Baháʼí Publishing Trust. Panelists will discuss the current state of Baháʼí literature, the goals, aims, and editorial approaches of the respective publishers, and answer questions and share insights regarding manuscript evaluation and review. It will be an informal discussion and a unique opportunity for participants to hear from and engage with the two publishers.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

We would love to hear from you

© 2022 National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'ís of the United States. | Privacy Policy | Terms and conditions | Site Credits

Close

Contact Us

Whether you are exploring the Bahá'í Faith or looking to become an active member, there are various ways you can connect with our community.

Please ensure that all the Required Fields* are completed before submitting.

Please choose one or more options below*:
Meet Bahá’ís near you or schedule a time to speak with a Bahá’í by phone or video chat.
Have introductory material mailed to you.
Receive a monthly round-up of new content on the bahai.us site and other features.
I would like to find Bahá’ís in my area
Name:
First Name*
Last Name*
Contact Information:
Street
City*
State*
ZIP Code*
Phone
E-mail *
Do you have any questions or comments you would like to share with us?

characters available